Zen and the Yoga catastrophe

http://www.archive.org/details/ZenAndTheYogaCatastropheRebAnderson

The above mp3 (17 minutes long) has been a milestone in my understanding of Buddhist meditation. I have been practising Yoga and Biodanza  for many years and the Zazen practice really challenged me for its lack of  “intense mind  states’.

Practising Zazen I have very rarely experienced something special. Hours of sitting in front of a wall without reward.

During a sesshin this frutration reached a crisis point. I got angry with my teachers, my fellow practitioners, the Buddha itself … I felt was just an illusion… all these suckers ….

The interaction between a woman and the teacher held during a Dharma talk  acted as a catalyst in generating a breakthrough. I realized I was caught up in ego games … extremely greedy of mind states.  It was the beginning of a new relationship with the void and the absence of special mind states.

This audio has been recorded at Green Gulch Farm, part of San Francisco Zen Center. The teacher is Reb Anderson (http://www.sfzc.org).

Have a nice listening.

Massimo

Lascia un commento

